Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

I REMIND MYSELF THIS EVERY DAY

Oprah Winfrey once said —

Be thankful for what you have, you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.

In a nutshell, Oprah is telling us to count our blessings. To be happy contented and satisfied with what we have.

Question is how many of us are contented right at this moment?

How many feel secure with what we have who we are where we are heading, right now?

A contented person, as I see it, is happy cheerful joyful; he feels fortunate, lucky and blessed. How many of us feel this way in this instant?

So how come we always want more? More of everything from wealth and riches and power and glory; it’s as if our appetite for more is insatiable, without limit, never enough.

The rich gets richer, the poor gets poorer. But between the two classes, which do you think ends up happy or happier? Neither, I should think, if they don’t know how to be thankful and count their blessings.

I’m not propagating that it is wrong to reach for the skies. There is nothing wrong to say I want more money more influence more power more respect.

What is wrong however is when we blatantly allow greed ego lust get in the way of our happiness.

There are bound to be people with high ego who are not always contented with what they have. They go all out to get what they think they need as much as they can even if it involves huge risks or breaking the law or at the expense of those who deserve more.

In the process, they overlook the small joys of life, they take for granted real treasures that cannot be bought. They will continue to do so until they get a jolt through divine intervention.

Wouldn’t it be sad to live a lifetime without getting the real feeling of contentment?

And so I remind myself this — on your way up to the skies of the rich the powerful the glory, take a snapshot of yourself along the way and thank God for what you already have. Because the truth of the matter is, we need much less than we actually think we do to be happy.

Thank you for stopping by 🙂

3 comments on “I REMIND MYSELF THIS EVERY DAY

  1. bkpyett
    September 23, 2014

    Raja, I love your happy yellow face amongst the blue sad ones! What you say is so correct, being grateful is so important! I guess sometimes I feel guilty that I’m blessed when there are so many unhappy people about. I just hope contentment is contagious!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • raroto
      September 23, 2014

      It’s okay to feel guilty I suppose, this keeps us grounded and in touch with our feelings and of those around us. That’s when we begin to live..
      Keep the Smile on Barbara ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ChristineR
    November 12, 2014

    LOL – no-one can ever accuse me of money-grabbing! I work only hard enough to get by! 😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2014 by in Heh Moments and tagged , , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

