Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

Digging Up Your Digs: SURE YOU WANNA DO THIS?

500 years from now, an archaeologist accidentally stumbles on the ruins of your home, long buried underground. What will she learn about early-21st-century humans by going through (what remains of) your stuff?

image

Hate to disappoint you, dear Doctor Dig, but there isn’t much of a clue for you to work on at my place.

I have no precious stones stashed in the safe, nor Oriental vases on the shelf. (The piece of ceramic you found? That’s actually from the toilet bowl in my bathroom). I have no skeleton in my closet either, but hey, speaking of closet — I do have a bunch of wire hangers lying around in there, in case you’re interested. You’d probably discover soon enough in your research that clothes hanger is a 19th century invention but they survived the test of time, so to speak.

I have a lot of clothes hangers at home, as most early-21st century-humans do, as they make a useful accessory for an organized closet. Some are store-bought and some I collect from the dry-cleaners. They’re made of plastic, wood and wire, but out of the three, the wire kind is my least favorite. They bend easily and go out of shape, and if clothes are heavy, they slide off. But the thing I hate most about these things is that they cross over and get tangle up all the time. How something so timid could get so intimidating, I don’t know. You might want to figure this one out for yourself.

So why don’t you take them back to the lab and try to sort out the mess but let me warn you, these wire hangers, they multiply at night when the door is closed… Good luck!

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

<

p style=”text-align:center;”>Image courtesy of travelguide.reservewilliamsburg.com

4 comments on “Digging Up Your Digs: SURE YOU WANNA DO THIS?

  1. wsmarble
    September 6, 2014

    Even though they are the least reliable at holding clothes, the wire hangars are actually my favorites. I do admire their simplicity, and the fact that they can be used for other purposes so easily. Plus, you can round up and move all of your wire hangars in one box….if you ever would need to do such a thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      September 7, 2014

      That’s one helpful tip for our “archaeologist” to work on, wsmarble! Thanks for dropping in 🙂

      Like

  2. thehappyhugger
    September 7, 2014

    Loved your response to the challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2014 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

