Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

Discussion Enders: GIVE IT A REST ALREADY!

We’ve all had exchanges where we came up with the perfect reply — ten minutes too late. Write down one of those, but this time, make sure to sign off with your grand slam (unused) zinger.

If you’re a Malay woman, thirty-something and still single, my advice to you is: never ever attend a wedding with your aunty/grand-aunt/your grand aunty’s best friend.

Not unless you’re prepared to answer the ultimate question: So, my dear, when’s your turn?

I get that a lot when I was that age. It is the single most hateful question anyone could ever ask me. And the one that has got me tongue-tied every time!

The first time I got cornered, was the worst. I wasn’t prepared for it, and ended up sounding like a blundering twit. I remember giving them a long, elaborated master thesis about the meaning of true love/finding your soul mate – you know, the whole B-S. They didn’t buy it of course. Some even took it as an insult that I would dare ‘lecture’ them about love. You don’t need ‘love’, that can come later, you need to bear children Now, before it’s too late!

I then switched tactics, going for the short and sweet white lie — “Soon, dear Aunty”. That, too, apparently, wasn’t good enough: in fact, that got them even more agitated, resorting to threats of a match-make with some neighbor’s husband’s cousin’s sister-in-law’s recently-widowed uncle. The vultures.

I stayed away from family weddings for a long time after that.

It took me awhile to figure this one out, but now I have what I truly believe to be the the perfect answer to shut them up permanently, one which I would like to share for the benefit of all my ‘single sisters’ out there —

The next time you see the old prune at a funeral, don’t walk away, instead, go up to her and whisper gently in her good ear:

“So, my dear Aunty, when’s your turn?”

Heh 🙂

9 comments on “Discussion Enders: GIVE IT A REST ALREADY!

  1. writenlive
    August 26, 2014

    Nice post. We encounter the same reactions and questions in India so I know what you are talking about 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      August 26, 2014

      Maybe we should form a global support group – call it Single Women United! Ok, sounds cheesy, I know… LOL!
      Thanks for stopping by writenlive 🙂

      Like

  2. joatmon14
    August 26, 2014

    Now that is a good comeback

    Liked by 1 person

  3. raroto
    August 26, 2014

    Hehe! Thank you 🙂

    Like

  4. janyasilad
    September 1, 2014

    I could totally relate, except for the fact that few really gushes over my single status. Some people assume that I’m doing ‘fine’ in this relationship topic; however, it’s just an impression. Besides I’d rather become a hermit! I think that would be cool don’t you think? 😉

    Like

    • raroto
      September 3, 2014

      Hi there! So sorry for not responding sooner, have been away for a bit.
      Thanks for the comment, janyasilad. Become a hermit? I guess it’s doable, as long as I have internet access.. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ChristineR
    September 11, 2014

    Excellent response. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mamta chakravorty
    September 18, 2014

    Ha Ha !!! a befitting answer indeed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2014 by in Daily Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

