Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

Off The Shelf: GIVE ME FIVE!

I’m not one to read books I’ve read before.

I’d watch the same movie more than once, but somehow I haven’t the urge to reread a book, regardless of how good it may be.

But just to humor our Mister Daily Prompter today, I think I can name one book which I wouldn’t mind picking up again; well, make that a series  — and  that will be, The Famous Five by Enid Blyton.

image

Yeah, I think it would be really nice to revisit my childhood friends — Julian, Dick, Anne, and their cousin George. Oh and Timmy, George’s clever dog.

Such awesome adventures they had each time they got together during the school holidays — solving mysteries, finding hidden treasures, riding horses, going caravanning. And getting to read about some of the places they’ve been to, like Treasure Island, Smuggler’s Top, and Mystery Moor, I could only wish my school holidays were half as exciting as theirs!

My bookshelf do not hold this wonderful classic series anymore. I am trying hard to recall what became of my collection although I do remember owning the complete set, 21 books in all. My best guess would be, they were given away/donated at some point in time.

Anyway, talking about this have certainly brought back good memories from the days long gone. The Famous Five played a big part in my growing-up years, helping me discover the joy of reading. I loved spending time with the characters and living in the stories, and today’s prompt just made me realized how much I missed them.

I think I can make room for twenty-one more in the old bookcase…

Thank you for Stopping by 🙂
Yahoo! Images
12 comments on “Off The Shelf: GIVE ME FIVE!

  1. waywordness
    August 18, 2014

    Good to have you back on here !

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      August 18, 2014

      Thank you, Waywordness for the welcome back message. But I think I’ve caused a bit of confusion from the way the post title is worded – it must have given you the impression that I’ve gone off and came back. That’s not the case, actually – “My Friends” here refer to the Famous Five characters. Entirely my mistake..! So, I think this calls for a slight amendment to the title. I’ll rename the post as Off the Shelf: GIVE ME FIVE! Howzat sound, eh? 🙂

      Like

  2. Susie
    August 18, 2014

    Wow. Another Enid Blyton book lover. Very few young people have copies of these books these days. I loved to read them as a child and I still do as a middle aged woman. I have currently 20 of the 21. I like Uncle Quentin and the fits he gets into and the adventures of the Fives especially on the moors. The visual imagery provided by Enid Blyton is far out and I feel one that cannot be matched by any modern day writer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      August 18, 2014

      Right you are about the illustrations; they pull you in even more into the book..! My favorite is George @ Georgina. She is spunky and smart, and has curly hair – something I’ve always wanted. Haha!
      Thanks for taking the time to visit, Susie 🙂

      Like

  3. bkpyett
    August 18, 2014

    It’s good to know that you are young at heart! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      August 18, 2014

      Haha! Always have been, always will, Barbara 😀

      Like

  4. tyrocharm
    August 18, 2014

    I think I’ll give these a try, my young daughter is a voracious listener. We go through quite a number of books to read at night. I wonder if my library has them?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. saira777
    August 22, 2014

    I loved these books growing up too! Did you ever read the Magic Faraway Tree books as well? They were my favourite 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      August 22, 2014

      Not familiar with that one. I’ll give it a go one of these days. Thanks for the suggestion, Saira 🙂

      Like

  6. ChristineR
    August 26, 2014

    I loved Famous Five and feisty George, and The Secret Seven, too. And I loved the Just William books too, such a naughty boy, he was. I’ve only read about six or so of each of them, I had no idea there were so many in the series. Just William has 39! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      August 26, 2014

      Guess what, Christine – a few days after the post, I went and bought one! The Famous Five Collection, the first three stories in one volume, complete with the familiar illustrations! I am halfway through the second story (Five Go Adventuring Again). Relishing every word! Aah..to be a 10 year old (again)!

      Liked by 2 people

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2014 by in Daily Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

