Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

Can’t Stand Me: UNBEARABLY YOURS…

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice?

image

Believe it or not, when I was about 10, 11, I appeared on national telly!

It was for some stupid talent show that my parents put me up to …Β at a time and age when I was too young to comprehend my Constitutional rights to privacy and freedom of (non) expression!

I went along with it because when it was recorded, there were only a few people there — some of the contestants, my mom and dad, and the tv crew; and so I thought no studio audience to face, no stage fright to be had, no worries!

There was of course, one small glitch: No one told me anything about being on prime time television!

When the show came on air that night, suffice to say, I died and was reincarnated a glob of melted candle wax.

I remember how the entire raroto Clan had cramped the living room that night, cheering and clapping, while I sat on the floor half-hidden behind my big old aunt she was huge, cringing at the sight of this gawky, nerdy, rake-thin girl in a floral pink dress Mom’s pick, not mine!Β Had the living room floor cracked open even half a hair’s breadth, I would have gladly wriggled myself into it and disappear, never to be seen again.

I was scarred for life ok, that’s an exaggeration, but I will tell you this: if anyone asks me to stand in front of a v-cam again, well…let me answer this way —

a. No

b. No Way!

Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚
phOto credit @ LYle.Smu.edu
13 comments on “Can’t Stand Me: UNBEARABLY YOURS…

  1. Maggie Wilson
    July 11, 2014

    See, I have the exact opposite feeling about the limelight. I’m a bona fide hambone. I wanted so badly to be on the local Tiny Talent Time, but I had no talent to showcase! I thought maybe I’d read from Dr.Seuss. Yeah! That oughta wow ’em! Mom talked me down from that near disaster.

    Did you sing?

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      July 11, 2014

      Heavens No! People will all die a slow death if they hear me sing. I played the organ. Got kicked out at the first round tho LOL!
      As for your childhood dream, you could try youtube…I’ll be the first to sign up for your fan club πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Maggie Wilson
    July 11, 2014

    Oh, I don’t think the world is ready for Maggie on YouTube! But when I am, you will be the first to know! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Hear Me Roar | TyroCharm

  4. crabbit
    July 13, 2014

    Why not find the clip and put it on the site so bloggers can give you feedback on your performance. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      July 13, 2014

      What?! And relive the nightmare?! No way, Jose! Hahahaha!! Take my word for it, crabbit, my performance was more awful than awful, you’ll thank me for not showing it in here πŸ˜€
      Besides, I doubt if the TV station would have it in their archives … the recording was done at a time when Man was still chasing dinosaurs on foot. Heh πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • crabbit
        July 14, 2014

        I’m so disappointed I was really looking forward to it. Just think what it could do for your blog stats. It may go viral and then who knows where it might lead. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. ChristineR
    July 15, 2014

    I bet you if someone asked, your answer would be neither a) nor b). πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • raroto
      July 15, 2014

      No doubt about that Christine πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. missfinnie
    October 24, 2014

    Reality hits me when I heard the recording of my voice for the first time many years ago. I never realized it sounds so odd and totally different from what I’ve been hearing after all those years. I don’t want to hear recording of my voice, EVER!! No way!

    Liked by 1 person

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2014 by in Daily Prompt, Heh Moments and tagged , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - Β©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

