Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

PICKY TONGUES: A Chilli a Day Keeps the Family Together!

image

If I have to choose one flavor out of the given choices – Sweet, Sour, Bitter, Salty, Umami and Spicy, which one would I choose to lose…?

Easy. I’d get rid of the Umami.

What in the world is Umami anyway?! I googled it up and found good ol’ Wikipedia, and it says that Umami is a Japanese word which is translated to mean “pleasant savory taste”. This ‘taste’ appears to be a combination of all the other four basic tastes, namely sweet, sour, bitter and salty.

Wait. Spicy is not one of ’em?

Hm. Well then, there’s one more good excuse for me to lose this “mild but lasting aftertaste that is difficult to describe” then!

I can even do without all the other basic four flavors as a matter of fact, but not Spicy! Uh uh. No way, Jose.

I love my food hot and spicy. The hotter the better! Everyone in the family does. The kitchen at home is never without chillies. Fresh green, red, and “bird chillies”, dried chillies, and Tabasco, Peri-Peri sauce and even the ultra-mild Heinz Chilly Sauce are all ‘staple provisions’ in the pantry.

Mom’s Fish/Prawn/Chicken Curry and Sambal Tumis Ikan Bilis (dried anchovies in chili paste) are two of my favorite hot and spicy dishes; they’re best eaten with warm white rice. The other to-die-for dish is her Curry Noodles.  Always a hit with the whole family.

Just the thought of the Sambal (chili paste) is enough to make me drool. The sensation I get whenever I eat spicy food is something like  doing a 20-minute non-stop cardio workout…you get all sweaty, and gasping and breathing hard but right after that, you feel ‘spent’. Best feeling in the world right there!

But the one thing you should never do, in case you aren’t accustomed to eating spicy food, is to drink cold or iced water. Even if you feel like your mouth is on fire, stop gulping down that gallon of Coke because it’ll make it worse. Trust me. Instead, I’d recommend that you sip hot or warm water/tea/coffee. Better yet, chew some cucumbers or mint leaves, they work like magic on your tongue.

Oops looks like I’m digressing here ….sorry!

So, back to the question at hand, the one flavor I would choose to lose is – Umami.

Thank you for StoPping by 🙂

14 comments on “PICKY TONGUES: A Chilli a Day Keeps the Family Together!

  1. amrit100000
    July 1, 2014

    Its nice to see a chilli lover here. I share my tastes with you 🙂

    Like

    • raroto
      July 1, 2014

      Spicy food, you either hate ’em or love ’em! For me, it’s a love affair made in heaven 😀
      Good to hear from you, Amrit!

      Like

  2. Robert Jepson
    July 1, 2014

    Totally agree Raja, there’s nothing in the world like spicy food, the hotter the better, bring it on 🙂

    Like

  3. story teller
    July 1, 2014

    I’m a chilli maniac too!!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. ChristineR
    July 1, 2014

    I guess I’m just a wimp when it comes to ‘proper’ hot and spicy. I can handle a little bit of sweaty forehead with some nice hot pepperoni on pizza, but gasping while trying to draw cool air into the mouth, na ah. 😀 As always, you put a grin on my face, thank you.

    Like

  5. bkpyett
    July 1, 2014

    Beautifully told Raja! You explained Unami better than me. I thought if I didn’t know it existed, how could I miss it?
    Love your descriptions of chillies and how you use them. My beloved has a tender tongue, so I have to go carefully with the hot spicy foods. I do love them though!

    Like

    • raroto
      July 1, 2014

      Or maybe..we’re too chicken to give this strange Japanese taste a go..just take the easy way out and declare it’s bad for the human race 😀

      Like

      • bkpyett
        July 1, 2014

        I am happy with what we have. I have a feeling this other is full of MSG! 😀

        Like

  6. tyastlc
    July 3, 2014

    I love chilli very much. Oh God…that pic make me want to eat warm rice, sambal and fried tahoo.

    Like

    • raroto
      July 3, 2014

      That’s a happy meal combo! Yum!
      thanks very much for the comment tyastic 😉

      Like

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2014 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

