Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

Set for Solstice: WHO CARES!

Today’s Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year (in the Northern Hemisphere). How are you taking advantage of the extra hours of light this time of year? Do you like it, or do you already miss earlier sunsets?

So, DP wants to know whether I like Summer Solstice.  Well,  you know what, I DON’T GIVE A DAMN!!

Hel-lo Mr. Daily Prompter…

In case you haven’t noticed –

There are Bloggers living OUTSIDE of the Northern Hemisphere!

I live in Malaysia

as in South East Asia

as in the TROPICS

near the EQUATOR!

There is NO Summer Solstice happening down here! Ever!

THIS IS DISCRIMINATION!

SHAME ON YOU, WORDPRESS!!!

 

17 comments on “Set for Solstice: WHO CARES!

  1. wsmarble
    June 21, 2014

    You are correct, of course. And I apologize for this injustice. Still, can you imagine the relief that your friends in the northern hemisphere must be feeling, having just emerged from one of the worst winters on record? It started in mid-October and did not really end until mid-April. Solstice does at least have more meaning this year than most years, when even northern hemisphereans also say “who cares?”

    But it is also true that the more we are online, the less myopic we are about our geography…our place in the larger, more diverse world.

    Have a splendid, tropical day!

    Like

    • raroto
      June 21, 2014

      Hey, you don’t need to apologize. I’m not angry at you or fellow bloggers and friends who live up north, you should know that. Just that I was looking forward to writing for the DP today, and This had to come up!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment, wsmarble, appreciate what you’re trying to do.
      You have a great day too, Happy Summer Solstice 🙂

      Like

  2. raroto
    June 21, 2014

    p.s. wsmarble – Wait a second, I Am writing something on today’s prompt after all… Duh. LOL!

    Like

  3. nonsmokingladybug
    June 21, 2014

    Oh please don’t feel discriminated. As for me…it allows an older Lady to have a nice glass of wine and think of midsummer nights when I was a child…back then, way back then lol

    Like

    • raroto
      June 22, 2014

      Why not? The last time I checked, this DP is for Every one to participate. Only this time, it’s tailor-made for a certain quarter. I read and re-read the challenge lest I missed a line or mistook the message. But what the prompt is asking is clearly for the benefit of the people living in the Northern Hemisphere. Not the South or East or West. Fair game? I think not. Way I see it, Mister Daily Prompter doesn’t care about what the rest of the world has to say today. And this has made me very sad and disappointed 😦
      Lucky you to be able to enjoy a midsummer’s night! I am just glad to know that the worst of the winter days are finally over for you, and you have my sincere wish for the best this Summer. Happy days ahead, my nonsmokingladybug friend 🙂

      Like

  4. nonsmokingladybug
    June 22, 2014

    Personally I find a lot of the DP challenges not fitting for myself. Like yesterday or the day before when they asked about our dreams. Oh I wish I could remember my dreams, never could and probably never will, so I read what other people wrote. Some of it made me wish even more that I could remember my dreams, but some of it made me feel blessed “I didn’t want to dream that” :-). Mister daily prompter could use some good prompts and if I would know how to reach this guy I would give him some suggestions…but until I find out I have to feel left out sometimes and it can be a good thing. Glad I found you!

    Like

    • raroto
      June 22, 2014

      Your thoughtful words have made my heart feel as warm as a summer’s night in Malaysia 🙂

      Like

  5. capsulecreations
    June 22, 2014

    Here in England, the sun is far and few in between.

    There is not much of a summer solstice in my neck of the woods, just extra hours of dark clouds.
    So you are not missing out on much 😄

    Like

    • raroto
      June 22, 2014

      We get a Lot of sunshine down here… if you like, I’d be more than happy to ‘give away’ some to you 🙂 thanks for dropping in!

      Like

  6. Pingback: Set for Solstice | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  7. ChristineR
    June 22, 2014

    When your post began I was wrinkling my brow in puzzlement, for surely Malaysia was not having a summer solstice I thought. But you soon put me straight. That was hot-blooded rant and a half Raroto. Well done. 😀

    Like

    • raroto
      June 22, 2014

      Oh yeah…and it felt gooood! evil grin ‘El Nino’ has landed in Kuala Lumpur, coincidentally. The mercury is sky-rocketing up to 38c most days since last week. That must have factored in on my outburst last night 😀

      Like

  8. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Set for Solstice | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Stunning Solstice | Peace, Love & Great Country Music

  10. Tina The Mess
    June 26, 2014

    Well said Raroto! I also didn’t write on some DP topics, because they were totally unsuitable for me.

    And please, do not feel discriminated. 😀

    Here on the North, I often dream of more Sun and the warmer weather especially when you can’t leave the house.

    Because you are stuck in the pile of white cold sh…t. 😀

    Enjoy your day and have a lots of hugs from me!

    😀

    Tina.

    Like

    • raroto
      June 26, 2014

      Thanks for the support Tina. But I’m okay about it now…just letting off steam a bit. ehugs

      Like

  11. Tina The Mess
    June 26, 2014

    By the white cold sh…t I meant SNOW. A lot of it! LOL. 😀

    Like

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2014 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

