Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

An Ounce of Home: The BAJU KURUNG

You’re embarking on a yearlong round-the-world adventure, and can take only one small object with you to remind you of home. What do you bring along for the trip?

What I will pack for the trip is a BAJU KURUNG.

For the benefit of my non-Malaysian readers, allow me to explain.  You’ve probably heard of the Saree from India, or the Chinese Cheong Sam. Well, here in Malaysia, the Baju Kurung is what Malay women and girls normally wear. It’s a traditional Malay costume, loosely translated as “enclosed dress”, and can be worn as a casual wear, or to the office, or on special occasions like a wedding or a festivity.

The versatile Baju Kurung is a simple loose-fitting cut, consisting of a blouse (the “baju“) and a sarong (or “kain“). The traditional baju is collarless, with long sleeves, and extends down to the knees, whilst the kain is like a full-length skirt with foldings or pleats, on one side. There is also the modern and fancier version, which sees the wearer in a figure-hugging top and a streamline long pencil skirt.

Why I choose a Baju Kurung is as a show of pride of myself as a Malay, and a woman. The Baju Kurung reflects the identity of the Malay woman who is gentle, graceful and modest. There is a saying in Malay, seperti kacang lupakan kulit which refers to someone who easily forgets his ‘roots’. The Baju Kurung would serve as a reminder that I am my mother’s daughter who has been raised to respect our culture and customs. Even though, I must admit, I hardly keep up with the traditions throughout my adulthood, I do my best to preserve some of the ‘practical’ ones – the Baju Kurung is one of them.

Having said that, I probably will not wear it anytime during the journey because, truth be told, I don’t do dresses or skirts or gowns – unless absolutely necessary like having to go to some draggy official function which I can’t talk my way out of. Believe me, I have nothing against a Baju Kurung; I simply don’t like to dress up. Period. If you leave me to my own devices, I’d be more than happy to work, play and die in my jeans and t-shirt! Besides, I’d probably trip and fall over the flow-y kain, being the clumsy clot that I am. So much for graceful and gentle! 

There is one other reason I would pack a pair of Baju Kurung for the journey. I think it would make the perfect parting gift to a fellow traveller whom I might meet along the way between Kuala Lumpur and the Rest of the World!

Here’s a picture of me and a friend in traditional style Baju Kurung, once upon a time!

image

Thanks for stopping by!

 

Dp: an ounce of home
12 comments on “An Ounce of Home: The BAJU KURUNG

  1. nonsmokingladybug
    June 20, 2014

    I hear you, I don’t like to dress up anymore either. This is a part of my past. Now I am happy in Jeans and T-Shirt. I can be “girly” with my hair and accessories, dressing up…Nope not so much! Thank you for sharing, I enjoyed it. Beautiful picture of two beautiful women 🙂

    Like

    • raroto
      June 20, 2014

      Thanks so much, glad you liked it 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: An Ounce of Home | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  3. L
    June 20, 2014

    waaaah……so ayu one! cantik lah!

    Like

    • raroto
      June 20, 2014

      Oh timakaseh… Itu pun kena paksa pakai! 😀

      Like

  4. ChristineR
    June 20, 2014

    I’m pleased you included the photo. You both look very elegant and the colours are georgeous. 🙂

    Like

    • raroto
      June 20, 2014

      Yeah I was hoping the photo would help to give a clearer picture of how the outfit is worn. The ‘models’ is an extra bonus LOL!! Thanks Christine 🙂

      Like

  5. ChristineR
    June 20, 2014

    … oops, I’ve got to remember to read properly … the word is gorgeous.

    Like

  6. grieflessons
    July 1, 2014

    I still have the hand-block-printed batik sarongs I bought in Bali 43 years ago–at the time for $1 each. (unbelievable) As I traveled around the world, they were my bathrobe, blanket, tablecloth, picnic cloth, nightgown, dress and curtain. I still use them as tablecloths and beach coverups. You made a wise choice.

    Like

    • raroto
      July 1, 2014

      Looks like you got to know your batik sarong inside out 😀
      So good to hear from you grieflessons 🙂 thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  7. grieflessons
    August 6, 2014

    Aha…all coming together…So confusing, this globe hopping via blogs. I didn’t realize you were not only the volcano peeping Tom, but also the bahu kurung gal.

    Like

    • raroto
      August 6, 2014

      Haha! Volcano peeping Tom! I plead guilty as charged LOL!
      And by the way, Welcome to Duniya Ku (My World), grieflessons! Good to have you on board 🙂

      Like

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2014 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

