Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

Right to Brag: I SAVED A LIFE LAST WEEK

The day started out like any other week day.

I woke up the usual time, got ready for work and then set out of the house just after 8 o’clock to face the morning crawl.

By the time I reached the intersection leading into the expressway, the 3-lane traffic were already cramped bumper to bumper so what else is new huh.  But it was moving – ok, crawling – most of the way. Those on motorbikes, though were having an easier time, getting ahead of the cars and trucks, weaving in and out of the lanes like a circus chimp on a tricycle. I would hold my breath and say a little prayer every time one of these “stunt men” comes up close while trying to squeeze his way through oh please don’t scratch my car…

Anyway, as I was inching my way through, my eyes caught sight of something on the road ahead of me about 5 cars away – something very small and furry, with a little tail like a … (gasp!)

Oh My God.

It’s a Kitten! There’s a kitten in the middle of the highway! How in Heaven’s name did it get there?!

The poor little thing couldn’t have been more than 2 weeks old, and a kitten that age could hardly see let alone walk properly. And even though I couldn’t hear it, I could see that it was mewing and crying out for its mother. Where is the damn mother any way?!

At that moment, my heart was in my throat pardon the cliché, seeing the tiny body wobbling shakily in between the moving vehicles.  One car had already driven by so close to it, it was touch and go there. I knew the other drivers  must have seen the kitten also because one by one, they all started to slow down a bit more to maneuver away from it. Trouble was though, no one had bothered to stop to pick it up, not even those “chimps” on motorbikes, and you know as well as I do that when you’re jammed up tight like that, during rush hour, sooner or later, some di*k head is going to run over it.  O God Forbid!

I knew I had to stop and rescue the little creature before the unthinkable happened. I was still a few cars behind it so I had to act fast. I pleaded silently for it to stay put don’t move sweetheart, O God please don’t let it move while I frantically search for a safe spot to stop the car.

I saw an opening ahead and pulled over, rushed out of the car, leaving the engines running. In three quick strides I was able to reach the kitten, quickly scooped it up and took it back to safety. Phew!

The kitten didn’t struggle or make a fuss because I was holding it by the back of its neck. It was a ‘he’ and an adorable furry little ball he was, too! With grey and white patches on its head and body, a stubby tail, and a pair of sad blue eyes, I had half a mind to bring it with me to the office – I mean I couldn’t just leave him out there alone now can I? but  alas, I didn’t have to; because just then, Mother cat appeared and started meowing loudly, demanding him back.

I gave the little fella a gentle squeeze and said good-bye before handing him back to his mama. I never saw him again after that…

Thinking back, I realized I acted carelessly that day, stepping up in front of moving traffic like some crazy woman.  I could have been hit. But better me than that kitten, I guess; he was totally helpless and I would not be able to forgive myself if I simply drove by without doing anything to help him.

Needless to say, I went to work with a happy heart that day.

A Very Happy heart 🙂

p.s. That’s one item off my Bucket List !

DP Right To Brag

14 comments on “Right to Brag: I SAVED A LIFE LAST WEEK

  1. de Wets Wild
    June 15, 2014

    Absolutely something to brag about Raja! Well done!

    Like

    • raroto
      June 15, 2014

      Yay! Thanks guys 🙂 You’d do the same thing, too, I’m sure.

      Like

  2. Tina The Mess
    June 15, 2014

    😀

    Perfect.

    Just perfect. Especially saving the kitten, but I compliment the post. 😀

    Like

    • raroto
      June 15, 2014

      Aaw thanks Tina 🙂 I’m glad you liked it!

      Like

  3. Tina The Mess
    June 15, 2014

    How could I not like it?! 😀

    It’s perfectly written, and there’s a kitten saved. For me, an amazing compilation!

    😀

    Like

  4. Tina The Mess
    June 15, 2014

    Oh…:D

    Don’t. You deserve it. 🙂

    Like

  5. amamic1
    June 15, 2014

    Wow, what a great story!

    Like

  6. Kimberley Thomas
    June 16, 2014

    Raja, it is so heartwarming to find a kindred spirit who believes that life is priceless regardless! I love your story and you most definitely have a “right to brag!”

    Like

    • raroto
      June 16, 2014

      Thank you so much for the kind words Kimberley 🙂

      Like

  7. shazza91321
    June 16, 2014

    That is very much like something I would do. Act first, think about how silly that was to do later lol. Praise God for you, said the mama cat to the lady. lol I think we as people need to flex our muscles in this area, great story.

    Like

    • raroto
      June 17, 2014

      Why thank you so much for the kind words shazza91321. Little Kitty was well worth the save, kinda wish I had taken his picture before letting him go.. Thank you for visiting 🙂

      Like

  8. Pingback: Not to brag, but… | The Hempstead Man

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2014 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

