Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

Daily Prompt: Antique Antics of the Gold Band

What’s the oldest thing you own? Recount its history – from the object point of view. 

Hi! Goldy’s the name and this is my story.

About 20-something years ago, I was gifted to Miss Raroto by her parents on her Birthday. I can’t tell you which birthday though coz I have been sworn to secrecy about this, for reason or reasons best known to her!

But what I can tell you is that I was well-loved by her from day one till today!

On that special occasion, I was presented to her in a small red velvety box. I clearly remember her squeals of delight after she opened the box and saw me in it. Oh how she had hugged her ol’ man God Rest His Soul and her Mother, thanking them profusely as she did.

And the moment she slipped me into her long slender right ring finger, with much reverence I should add, I just knew that she and I will remain together forever.  She proudly showed me off to everyone at the party that afternoon… and for many days afterwards, I’d catch her admiring yours truly non-stop well, almost!  Obviously, I feel honored to be the first precious metal she’s ever owned.

Now you’re probably dying to know how I look like, huh? Well, my dear readers, I am but a very simple, very plain and ordinary-looking ring made of 99.9% pure gold, with a perfectly round-shaped body,  unblemished and smooth to the touch yep just like the one Mister Frodo lugs around all over Middle Earth before he gets to throw it into the fire.  That’s me, below …

image

I have been her constant companion, rarely leaving her finger except when she’s in the showers. It’s not because I am afraid of the water or anything, it’s just that there was one time many years ago, when I accidentally slipped out of her finger while she was washing her hands at the sink, and became stuck in the drainage pipe! This happened at a hotel, can’t remember where… but oh man, I was so scared she’d leave me in there. Of course she didn’t, not after having summoned a whole bunch of the hotel maintenance people to come rescue me, within minutes, I might add! Heh. Anyway, I could see the relief on her face when they found me. I believe she was more scared than I was. She then promised to be more careful and to keep me safe.

I live in a pretty little jewelry case on her dressing table, with my friends, Mister and Missus Earrings, Barry the Bracelet and Tiny Pinkie the Ring. These she bought herself recently. They are all made of gold but not as “pure” like me. She seldom puts them on, so I’m guessing they are not as special as I am to her! But more than that, I know I will always be her most cherished treasure because I was a gift from her beloved parents.

The End.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

8 comments on “Daily Prompt: Antique Antics of the Gold Band

  1. bkpyett
    June 12, 2014

    What a cherished glimpse into the life of your ring, love it!

    Like

    • raroto
      June 12, 2014

      Thanks so much for your comment. So glad you enjoyed reading it. Have a great day ahead 🙂

      Like

  2. saira777
    June 12, 2014

    such a charming story! 🙂

    Like

    • raroto
      June 12, 2014

      Thank you Saira! Good to hear from you, haven’t seen you around WP lately. Hope every thing’s good. I look forward to reading more of your dreamy escapades real soon! Take care 🙂

      Like

      • saira777
        June 12, 2014

        Thank you Raroto 🙂 I had a month away and now have lots to write down, I am typing away as we speak! It’s good to be back and am also happy to be able to read your posts again!

        Like

  3. ChristineR
    June 16, 2014

    Wait, got to check that welcome page again, I could have sworn you said English isn’t your first language. 🙂 Sweet story.

    Like

    • raroto
      June 17, 2014

      Aaw…so nice of you to say that Christine! You just made my day, thanks so much 🙂

      Like

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2014 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

