Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

Daily Prompt: Teenage Idol

My teenage idol was none other than Paul Michael Glaser from Starsky & Hutch. Any teenager growing up back in the late 70’s early 80’s would know the show for sure.

Paul played Detective Sergeant Starsky ~ the Coolest.Sexiest.Cutest tv cop ever, and don’t anyone try to talk me out of that! Heh. 😉

I love that guy! Oh yes, I confess right here and now that PMG was my first love ;D

I mean, look at him ~ that mop of curly brown hair, piercing blue intelligent eyes, a megawatt smile (ok, maybe not in the pic below), and when he does that “Starsky strut” in those tight blue jeans, Oh… Someone go get an industrial mop. Please. I’m melting into a puddle of glob here.

Paul Michael Glaser Photo taken from Yahoo! image

Never mind that he was absolutely brilliant playing Starsky! Street-wise and funny one minute, sexy and charming the next. Paul was the epitome of everything cool.

I’d put up his posters on every available space on my bedroom wall (a mandatory ritual to be performed by every respectable ‘idol’ worshipper!). I even changed my wardrobe so I could dress up like Starsky – from faded blue jeans and t-shirt right down to the iconic blue Adidas sneakers just like the one he wore on the show!

When the show ended, television wasn’t quite the same again for me. Cop shows that came on air after Starsky & Hutch like Chips and The Professionals, simply pale in comparison. I never got to see PMG on-screen again for many years, until 2004 when the S&H series were released on  DVD. It goes without saying I got the complete set! It was around about the same time when some idiot in Hollywood made it into a movie. Hah! movie my foot!  More like garbage to me. Ben Stiller as Starsky? pffft.

For me, no one can be Starsky except Paul. No one could ever replace Paul Michael Glaser! Well, except for, maybe Robert de Niro – he comes in a close 2nd – but that’s another story for another day. Heh.

So if you’re reading this Mr. Glaser, I just wanna say You’ll Always Be My Number One!

image

PMG, older but still a looker! @ Yahoo! image

thanks for stopping by! 😉
12 comments on “Daily Prompt: Teenage Idol

  1. L
    May 4, 2014

    Mine was Tom Seleck! Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! And still gorgeous! hee hee hee….

    Like

    • raroto
      May 4, 2014

      From Magnum PI ! Yeah he looks ‘manly’ with that thick moustache. The show’s boring though 😜

      Like

  2. thisisfaa
    May 14, 2014

    Err..I think I prefer the older version of your hero 😛

    Like

  3. sheenmeem
    June 29, 2014

    He is still gorgeous.

    Like

    • raroto
      June 29, 2014

      Without a doubt! 😀 You’re a fan too?

      Like

      • sheenmeem
        June 29, 2014

        I think he was super. I used to watch the show.

        Like

        • raroto
          June 29, 2014

          They don’t make tv shows as great as S&H anymore. Thanks for dropping by sheenmeem, appreciate the visit 🙂

          Like

  4. shazza91321
    July 5, 2014

    I loved him too!!! Cute story!!!

    Like

    • raroto
      July 5, 2014

      You do?? From now on, you and I, we’re Friends for life 😀
      Thanks for stopping by, shazza91321!

      Like

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2014 by in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

