Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

# 1 Must Do in Malaysia: CLIMB THE KINABALU

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had just come out of one of those boring monthly meetings when an idea popped into my head. I turned to my workmates and said: “I wanna climb the Kinabalu. Who wants to come?” Three said yes and 2 months later, we were all sitting pretty on top of Malaysia’s highest mountain! Heh.

Mount Kinabalu (or Gunung Kinabalu in Malay) is a World Heritage Site, and is located in Sabah, a state in East Malaysia. It stands at a height of 4,095m (13,435ft), and is ranked at no.20 of the world’s most prominent mountains.

The Kinabalu can be climbed quite easily – no mountaineering skills or equipment necessary – just as long you are in good physical shape to handle the high altitude conditions. If you’re into extreme sports, you can go via ferratta or join the International Climbathon. The mountain is open for climbing all year round, but you’ll need an accredited guide to go with you. Just sign up at the Kinabalu Park and a guide will be appointed for you. Porter service is also available, and recommended.

Oh, and you’ll get a Certificate with your name on it, signed sealed and delivered by your guide at the end of the climb!

Happy trails 🙂

5 comments on “# 1 Must Do in Malaysia: CLIMB THE KINABALU

  1. thisisfaa
    February 26, 2014

    Hey, those pics are priceless! Yes, I miss Kinabalu too. Who knows, one day I might just go 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. saira777
    February 27, 2014

    this looks amazing! what time of year would you reccomend?

    Like

    • raroto
      February 27, 2014

      Hi Saira! I went there twice, in May 2010 and Jan 2012. The weather was better in May, clear skies in the morning, with only light showers late noon. The January trip wasn’t so good as it rained all the way up. But it cleared up during our descend the next day. Rainy season starts in November through to Feb, so it’s best to avoid going during that time. There are rest areas with toilet along the way, and hot meals (B/L/D) are served at the base camp.
      That said, mountain weather is unpredictable and can change quickly. The climb to the summit (from base camp) is usually done at 2 or 3 in the morning (some would go at midnight!) which can get pretty cold – around 8c. So pack wisely! Hope this helps.

      Like

      • saira777
        February 28, 2014

        Thank you so much for the tips! I’ve had a few friends go recently and it’s been on my mind… I’m thinking if I’m so close by, why not!

        Like

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2014 by in Footprints & DNAs, Mount Kinabalu and tagged , , , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

