Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

THE PRINCESS AND SANG KATAK

Once upon a time in the kingdom of Indera Putra, there lived a beautiful princess named Puteri Dayang Silu, who loves to play in the palace garden.

One day, the princess went to the garden to play with her favorite toy, a little ball made of gold. She tossed the ball high into the air and tried to catch it, but it slipped out of her hand and fell into a big pond nearby.

The princess was sad and started to cry by the pond.

Suddenly she heard a voice, speaking to her: “What is the matter, dear Puteri?”

Puteri Dayang Silu looked up and was startled to find a frog sitting on a lily pad in the pond. “What an ugly frog!” she thought to herself.

The little frog spoke again: “why are you crying?”

“Oh Sang Katak, my beautiful golden ball has fallen into the pond. Please help me get it back”, the princess sobbed.

The frog took pity on her and said: “Of course, my Puteri, but on one condition.”

“What is it, Sang Katak?”

“If I am able to retrieve the ball, I want to live with you in the palace forever.”

“I will do anything you ask of me, I promise!” Puteri Dayang Silu replied earnestly.

And so the frog dived into the pond and several minutes later it reappeared with the golden ball.

The princess squealed with delight and took the ball from the frog. She then quickly walked away from the pond without thanking the frog.

Sang Katak cried out, “Wait, oh Puteri, what about your promise?!”

Puteri Dayang Silu turned around and said: “I lied. I do not wish to have you live with me because you are an ugly frog!” And with that, she ran off, leaving the frog sad and disappointed that the princess broke her promise.

The frog was determined to live with the princess as she was very beautiful and he has fallen in love with her. And so he decided to tell her father, Raja Putih, the King, who is well-loved by his people for his fairness and wisdom.

The next day, the frog went to the palace. Raja Putih was surprised to see a frog standing before him.

“What brings you here, little frog?” said the king.

“Tuanku, Your Majesty, your daughter has broken her promise to me.” The frog boldly replied, and told the King what had happened.

Raja Putih was angry with Puteri Dayang Silu. He immediately summoned for her, and after scolding the princess, the king advised her that it is only fair that she marries the frog. Although the princess was unhappy, she obeyed her father’s request.

The frog and Puteri Dayang Silu got married soon after. She hated the frog at first, and refused to speak or even look at him. But the frog continued to love and care for Puteri Dayang Silu. As the months passed by, the princess began to accept the frog and eventually, fell in love with him.

On one moonlit night, when they were out by the pond, Puteri Dayang Silu whispered to the frog: “I love you, dear frog, and I will live with you forever. I promise.”

Suddenly, before her very eyes, the frog started transforming itself and, like magic, became a handsome young man!

“Wh-who are you? What is happening? Wh-what have you done to the frog?!” the Puteri screamed.

“Don’t be alarmed, my princess! It is I, Sang Katak. You have broken the spell cast by a witch long ago. Now, I am human again!! Oh my darling puteri, thank you for loving me with all your heart!”

Puteri Dayang Silu and the Frog Prince hugged and cried happy tears.

And they lived happily ever after…

The End.

Glossary:
“Puteri” means princess;
“Tuanku” literally means my master. It is commonly used to address Malay monarchs;
“Sang Katak”: “katak” is frog, whereas the word “sang”, stand alone, has no real meaning but is often used as a complement in reference to an animal.

Featured image courtesy of Edukid Publication Sdn Bhd.

5 comments on “THE PRINCESS AND SANG KATAK

  1. grieflessons
    June 16, 2014

    I’m curious about whether these are tales made up by you or are they really classic malay folklore? Thanks for visiting my blog. You might be interested in my post “The Maiden’s Dilemma.” I have enjoyed reading your blog. –Judy grieflessons.wordpress.com

    Like

    • raroto
      June 16, 2014

      I did not make them up, they’re really classic malay folklore. I merely translated them into English. In doing the translating, I made sure to keep it in sync with the original story line, as close as possible.
      Thanks for dropping in. I will check out your post real soon!

      Like

  2. janyasilad
    July 3, 2014

    Wow! It’s similar to the Princess and the Frog Prince…
    And I love the glossary-part! It’s so cool learning something new 🙂

    Like

    • raroto
      July 3, 2014

      Oh hello there! I’m glad to see you are enjoying your visit to Duniya Ku 🙂
      Am happy to share!

      Like

  3. Sue Vincent
    August 13, 2014

    It seems that so many of our folktales and fairy stories share a common theme, regardless of national and geographical boundaries.

    Like

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2014 by in Classic Malay Folklores and tagged , , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

