Duniya Ku

I See. I Like. I Blog.

ThE DAY BEFORE CHRISTMAS

My PA passed away on Christmas eve.

The day earlier, she had collapsed at home and was admitted to Intensive Care. Her heart had stopped for more than 10 minutes, and it took 3 attempts for the doctors to revive her.

I rushed over to the hospital as soon as I heard, only to find her in a coma and on life-support machine. The prognosis was grim, we were told.

Deep down I knew she would not make it through the night. Still, I harbored hopes that she’d wake up, that she’d survive somehow.

She was a fighter in more ways than one. She had been widowed for many years, and has had some health issues of her own to deal with. Despite all that, she marched on and worked hard to raise her 3 children single-handedly: they’re all grown up now and doing well in life. Not many women I know could do that.

She was almost like a mother to me. She’d come in to work sometimes bringing me home-made dessert as treats. She’d clear away the empty coffee cups in my room, and patiently listened to me whining about this and that. And all along, that warm generous smile never left her face.

I desperately prayed for a miracle to happen that day. Alas, my prayers went unanswered.

On December 24th, at 3.45 pm, she went away without saying goodbye, and left us all with a big hole in our hearts.

It felt strange coming in to work this morning, seeing that empty desk outside my door and the familiar dark-blue jacket still draped over that creaky old chair she used to sit in. I walked by without giving it a second look.

Guess I was not quite ready to say goodbye just yet.

I will miss you Kak Zorrah.

Rest in peace.

4 comments on “ThE DAY BEFORE CHRISTMAS

  1. smerav
    December 27, 2013

    Sounds like a lovely lady… Hope she’s in a better place 😊

    Like

    • raroto
      December 27, 2013

      She was a gem of woman, a doting mother to her children, and a good friend. Thank you for your kind thoughts.

      Like

  2. friendsoulmate
    May 1, 2014

    Thank you for visiting WorldwideFriends. I clicked on your gravatar and I am glad I did and read a few of your posts. This is a sad one. Today I think in your country, it is Labour Day, 1st of May. May your late PA RIP. She is no longer a worker, an employee on earth but an angel in heaven. As you and your other workmates remembered her, although it is sad loosing a good friend but I am sure you all celebrated her life, as you as wrote of her being a gem of a woman, a doting mother to her children and a good friend.

    Like

    • raroto
      May 1, 2014

      Thank you very much friendsoulmate for the kind remarks. She was sent from heaven to light up the lives of everyone who knew her, and there now she rests. Amen.

      Like

So, what d'ya think?

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2013 by in Heh Moments and tagged , , , , , , , .

Copyright Notice

This blog and its content (except otherwise stated) is copyright of Duniya Ku - ©duniyaku.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.

Fresh From My Desktop

My Awards!

